Engine Break-in Method - Page 4 - Honda Grom Forum
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #31 of 41 Old 08-23-2013, 02:42 AM
Senior Grom Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

I'm no more than an educated shade-tree mechanic, but I can share with you the information provided to me by my ASE certified, UTI graduate friend.

For some motors, just starting it and letting it run breaks it in. Simple as that. Of course, everything is new and needs to settle, but that will all happen without any harm being done.

Mostly, the extensive break-in periods that most think are necessary, come from old-school folks who, back in the day, needed to spend a lot of time/effort breaking in their motors (i.e. hot-rodders breaking in solid flat tappet motors.) Nowadays, it's never a bad idea to take some precautions, but then again, may not be necessary.

My opinion is that you should take it easy, but not necessarily on RPM. Sure, don't wind it way up for a while, but think about throttle position in relation to RPM. I would rather have the motor spinning 6k rpm, vice 2k rpm and a wider throttle opening. Find a middle-of-the-road approach, and let it breathe, but don't thrash it. This is where you will be at maximum efficiency. And if you believe that the way you break it in is how it will perform, how can you beat that? Power and fuel mileage both come from efficiency, after all.
whitedevilws6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 41 Old 08-23-2013, 03:43 AM
Senior Grom Member
 
GodSon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Palm Springs, CA.
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

Just enjoy it for what its worth; its a Honda!
GodSon is offline  
post #33 of 41 Old 08-23-2013, 05:00 AM
Senior Grom Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

Would it be better to break in my new Grom (when it arrives) with the factory exhaust or should I install my Tyga slip-on right away?
zombie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 41 Old 08-23-2013, 08:59 AM
Senior Grom Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie View Post
Would it be better to break in my new Grom (when it arrives) with the factory exhaust or should I install my Tyga slip-on right away?
Honestly I don't think it would really matter. I would make sure the tune is spot-on though, just for good measure.
whitedevilws6 is offline  
post #35 of 41 Old 08-23-2013, 09:39 AM
Senior Grom Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zombie View Post
Would it be better to break in my new Grom (when it arrives) with the factory exhaust or should I install my Tyga slip-on right away?
new engines these days don't really need a break-in, but if you must, do it right after you get it, the aftermarket exhaust wont make much of a difference.
GromGuy is offline  
post #36 of 41 Old 08-23-2013, 06:25 PM
Senior Grom Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

Whitedevilws6, how do you mean to make sure the tune is spot-on? Do you mean to get a power commander? And GromGuy, should I mount it right away? Howcome? I do appreciate your responses.
zombie is offline  
post #37 of 41 Old 08-25-2013, 01:54 AM
New Member
 
jedimike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chye View Post
sounds about right.

I've always seated my rings by doing downhill in gear without throttle. Got a nice long hill by the house for this.
I use a similar method which is to essentially downshift to decelerate when coming up to stop lights or signs. My mechanic told me to do it... I forgot the reasons behind it, but apparently the compression helps.
jedimike is offline  
post #38 of 41 Old 08-26-2013, 01:50 PM
Senior Grom Member
 
mad8vskillz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Philly
Posts: 1,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Default

break in? just ride the thing. it will cost like $300 for a replacement engine by the time you pop one
mad8vskillz is offline  
post #39 of 41 Old 08-27-2013, 05:04 PM
CBX
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

For the first 100 miles I vary the throttle widely I.e. rev the bike to 7500 then let go of the throttle and let the back pressure do the work. Repeat
CBX is offline  
post #40 of 41 Old 08-27-2013, 09:08 PM
Senior Grom Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

right out the box im bangin the rev limiter
Big Chris is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off