Performance upgrades - Honda Grom Forum

post #1 of 2 Old 05-18-2019, 11:23 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default Performance upgrades

I just picked up a 2018 Grom ABS. I am 6-2 215 lbs and I want to go 70+ on my Grom. Let me start off by saying that I already have a bigger bike and don't care to hear 100 people telling me to just get a bigger bike. Secondly, I may ask some silly questions, as I am new to the aftermarket Grom scene. I am a diesel mechanic so I am mechanically inclined but has is new to me.
So her we go, can I get a big bore kit and turbo kit? Is there kits that work well with each other? I plan on doing an intake, dual exhaust, fuel system, and possibly ecu upgrades to start prepping for more power. This is what I generally start doing to my truck so I assumed it'd be the same. Thanks for the info in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 Old Today, 09:52 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage

seeing as no one else has answered your post there are many options out there. a lot of guys will refer it to upgrade the bike in stages, so lets say Stage 1 would be installing an intake, exhaust and some form of fuel management, for fuel management the best options appear to be either a reflash, a power commander v, or an Aracer Ecu. there are more options but those are the 3 most popular.
if you do the reflash it'll raise the AFR and rev limit of the bike in the stock ECU, a lot of people would then go to a power commander to make fine tuned adjustments after that. Usually this option is done with the stock bore or small bbk's... if you plan on doing a larger bbk there are a lot of options, the most popular being 170, 181, 183 and for the crazy guys the 210. usually for these the best option would be the Aracer ECU Replacement.