Honda Grom Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, just picked up my grom today! I live over here in Japan and I have just been waiting on the yen rate to climb before I pulled the trigger. It finally has crept above 100y=1USD so I pulled the trigger. Only put about 30km on it so far, but I plan to go crazy in the morning and work off some of these break-in miles.

A little history, I have been riding 2 wheels for around 10 years now, first bike was a CBR600RR (haha) I almost killed myself the first day on it trying to hang with a group of experienced riders on Laurales Grade (across the street from Laguna Seca Raceway) in Monterey, CA. I survived and got myself to a track but after several crashes and 1 good injury from trying to be the fastest person ever to ride, I decided to hang that crap up and just ride for fun.

The Grom is perfect! it's peppy but not stupid fast (if it was I would just do it all the time and kill myself) The seat sucks, and my throttle seems a little jumpy on decel, but other than that I am happy.

After a quick look at the forum, I guess I should be glad I didn't have to pay more for the Asian market headlight setup (gives the bike a more expensive look).

I'm just gonna ride, and customize a bit here and there to make it my own and with that I'll be in and out of the forum for tips and picture browsing. Take it easy and hit me up if you are ever in Okinawa!

Here's my and my son today, and of course my wife who looks thrilled by all of this.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Congrats! How much in $US did the total cost of bike cost? (including all taxes, fees, etc)
I paid 315,000 yen for it out the door 2 days ago. Yen rate was 100.40 to 1 dollar I think, so USD, call it 3,100 dollars for the bike + tax + title + license plate/registration and hoken ( it's a mandatory insurance that you have to buy 5 years worth in Japan on anything below 250cc.)