Honda Grom Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,069 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sooooo will the Grom evolve or just be a brief model? Maybe Honda has a HyperGrom 250cc or bigger...

Any thoughts?

·
Registered
34 Posts
I will take a stab at this... I am guessing it will be a brief model. I don't see this bike being super successful in the States, as Americans have a love for large, high cc bikes.

I own a CBR250. For what it is, it is a nice bike. But Americans view it as a beginner bike that you ride for a while and then get a bigger bike. This is not a fair characterization, as I am not a beginner, and I have owned much larger and faster bikes.

I am thinking the Grom will have limited appeal. This bike will attract the people who used to own a bike with an engine like the Grom has (Honda Cub, Trail90, etc), kids who want a cheap stunt bike, and people who want cheap transportation.

For all the Grom fans... this is not a slam on the Grom from me. The culture in N. America is what it is.

·
Registered
336 Posts
I don't see it being long term, but I don't see it as a brief model though. I think for the first year or two it'll sell quite well, then fade to the back and hang out for a few more years, before it's taken off the lineup.

I doubt Honda will mess with the current design much. Though I really wish they'd put a 5 or 6 speed in it and maaaybe just a tad more bore. Liquid cooling would be sweet. Of course all this would drive the cheap price way up though, and then it would never sell. Oh well. Guess I gotta hot-rod it myself.

·
Registered
134 Posts
I think in certain areas/cities of the US it will catch on, e.g. places with tight traffic and parking, not everyone wants to ride a scooter they want something tougher looking. But overall I see at as a bike that will stick around for several years, hopefully longer. Look at the Ruckus it's still popular.

·
Registered
255 Posts