Honda Grom Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just read about this bike and it looks pretty good. I'm pretty new to bikes in general. Probably a stupid question but is this bike fast enough to go on the highway? And is it good to take on long road trips? Or is this something that should stick on the streets?

·
Registered
55 Posts
Code:
I just read about this bike and it looks pretty good. I'm pretty new to bikes in general. Probably a stupid question but is this bike fast enough to go on the highway? And is it good to take on long road trips? Or is this something that should stick on the streets?
The long trip depends on experience and on your comfort zone. Personally I've ridden a Honda Ruckus from Houston to Austin and back. I took a 49cc scooter that topped out at 40 something on a 150 mile trip. It took me 4 hours to complete where it would have taken 2 ish in a car and 1 ish on my litre bike. Many people would consider this to be crazy but I loved the trip. You can also google for the guy who rode his ruckus from coast to coast.

As for hwy riding you have to take into account the average speed of traffic. With little traffic most cars tend to cruise at 70 mph. Are you comfortable with having cars pass you at this speed? What if you need to do the passing? tailgater? Personally I am ok with this. I plan on taking the grom on the highway. I also like to push things to their limits.

·
Registered
1,621 Posts
There are more comfortable ways to go long distance. And the GROM isn't exactly fast enough to keep up with highway traffic. So I wouldn't suggest it as a regular thing.

In a pinch you could get on the highway but I wouldn't do it for a long period of time all the time.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Not only is the allegedly top speed slow- you also have to consider how long it will take you to get to 60mph.

·
Registered
15 Posts