Honda Grom Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im interested in going to school to become a motorcycle mechanic. I dont know what the best route would be to start. I was wondering if i could start as an apprentice somewhere and start that way, or is it Neccessary to go to school and become certified. Any input would be great, thanks- TIM

·
Registered
187 Posts
I am from PA.
I work in the industry.
And I have a motorcycle mechanic license from an online course I took years ago.
MMI / AMI are great places, if you are willing to relocate temporarily.
One fairly close, and GOOD is PSI in Cleveland. One of my friends is an instructor there.
Also I believe York Technical Institute has a motorcycle program.

also check out WYO Tech.

but my best recommendation might be to go to your local motorcycle shop .... and talk to a technician, to see what they did.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
wow thanks for the feedback man, that definatly helps, im gonna look into. That online course sounds good too. how did that work out for you?

·
Registered
187 Posts
the online course is something that I found advertised in Cycle World magazine back in the day. I know they still do it, but the company changed names at least 6 times since then. i don't know what it is called now.
It was fairly inexpensive, and did it mainly to further my own personal knowledge ... not to get a job in that field. I am not sure how such a certification would be viewed when applying for a job at a shop.

·
Registered
149 Posts
Took some classes in the Auto-Tech program at my local Community College. Cheap, and I got a rockin' set of tools.

·
Registered
12 Posts